AHEAD Europe announces winners

AHEAD, the Awards for Hospitality Experience and Design, has revealed its winners in a ceremony at Park Plaza Westminster Bridge, London.

With 900 leading hospitality professionals in attendance, the awards celebrated design in all its forms and the guest experience it creates in hospitality projects worldwide.

From a converted historical post office in the heart of Ghent to a series of suites aboard a luxury sleeper train, the awards recognised aesthetic, conceptual, functional and commercial breakthroughs at a ceremony themed around John Lennon and Yoko Ono’s 1969 Bed-Ins for Peace. Guests were surrounded by flower bouquets supplied by McQueens Florists, whilst a recreation of the scene where Lennon and Ono’s landmark protest took place acted as a backdrop for dedicated photos and post-show celebrations.

A panel of judges comprising industry leading hoteliers, architects and interior designers, assessed entries on their aesthetic excellence, guest experience and commercial viability.

Marking the end of the current AHEAD 2017-2018 cycle, all regional winners will now compete to be crowned worldwide winner at AHEAD Global in January 2019.

The winners are:

Bar, Club or Lounge
The Whiskey Room at Hotel Roomers – Munich, Germany

Event Spaces
Ochil House at Gleneagles Hotel – Auchterarder, Scotland

Zallinger Saltria – Italy

Hotel Renovation & Restoration
Hotel Sanders – Copenhagen, Denmark

Landscaping & Outdoor Spaces
The Mandrake – London, England

Lobby & Public Spaces
Nobu Hotel Shoreditch – London, England

Resort Hotel
Vora Villas – Santorini, Greece

Izakaya at Hotel Roomers – Munich, Germany

Spa & Wellness
Hotel Seehof – Natz-Schabs / Naz-Sciaves, Italy

Belmond Venice Simplon-Orient Express – Various Locations

Urban Hotel Conversion
1898 The Post – Ghent, Belgium

Urban Hotel Newbuild
QO Amsterdam – The Netherlands

Visual Identity of the Year
Hôtel Les Roches Rouges – Côte d’Azur, France

New Concept of the Year
Stamba Hotel – Tbilisi, Georgia

The AHEAD MEA Hotel of the Year
Hotel Sanders – Copenhagen, Denmark

Winners took home bespoke trophies in hand-blown glass designed and manufactured by Lasvit, while headline sponsor Grohe – along with a host of other supporters – helped victors celebrate into the evening.